Escape Sham! Farewell Melaka! :(

So, Nigel wants me to emphasise that he explicitly dismisses anything beyond 1st Gen Punk, not  2nd Generation…

Punk erratums and disclaimers aside, it’s Bonfire Night in Blighty this eve Eh? Bizarrely, I was reading an article in the Java Post the other day, which was explaining that Halloween is now the third most commercial festival in the U.K, after Christmas and Easter.

Sadly, it seems that Bonfire Night is on the wain in the U.K. Cannae say I’m surprised – the last Fireworks Night Emma and I went to was pathetic. We were freezing cold, yet due to health and safety legislature, we were obliged to stand some 200 meters from the bonfire, which was cordoned off. It was ridiculous.

Interestingly, the Java Post expressed the view that one of the reasons for Bonfire Nights demise    in popularity was that Guy Fawkes was Catholic, so historically, the entire ‘celebration’ had been an anti Catholic affair. However naively, that had never really dawned on me.

Besides, I always thought that Guy Fawkes apprehension had been a missed opportunity. After all, it is said by many that Fawkes was the only honest person to ever attempt to enter the Houses of Parliament – Ho Hum.

Moreover, one of my favourite quotes of all time was uttered by Fawkes. Upon his arrest, when asked why he had attempted to mastermind the gunpowder plot, he is alleged to have replied “Because a desperate disease requires a desperate remedy…” Nuff said Eh? Somebody give that man a post humous Community Action Order of Merit. LoL!

Anyhow, as usual, old Trent begins to digress. Emma and I were reluctantly beginning to accept that we were nearing the end of our stay in Melaka. The Apple Rum and Red Bull cocktails were nigh on exhausted, and we were fast running out of places to visit, save for our nightly excursions to Sayang Sayang bar and guesthouse.

What I found hilarious, was that John 1&2 had invited us both to go to the cinema to see the new Stallone and Schwarzeneggar movie, ‘Escape Plan’. I was more than happy to go and catch the film, but for anybody that doesn’t know, Emma loathes Arnie, and I mean she really hates him as a movie star. It is difficult for me to convey how deep her dislike goes – but it is sufficient to even make her reject ‘Terminator 2’ as a good movie – and that’s pretty difficult for me to swallow – Ho Hum.

None the less, as we had been invited by John 1 & 2, Emma agreed to the outing. We all had a hilarious afternoon – here’s a shot of Emma flanked by the two Johns, immediately prior to us seeing Hollywoods biggest two hard men, “Together for the first time, on the big screen…” LMAO!!

I can not believe I was talked into this!!

I can not believe I was talked into this!!

I wish I could tell you that ‘Escape Plan’ was the greatest action film ever made, but at best it was 90 minutes of mindless escapism. None the less, it was amusing, and after it had ended, we noted that George Clooney and Sandra Bullock’s latest sci fi film, ‘Gravity’ was screening. In fact, we discovered afterwards that ‘Gravity’ premiered in Malaysia prior to it doing so in the UK.

‘Gravity’ is an excellent film. I would give it an 8.5/10. Bullock is amazing in it. Doubtless it will be my film of the year. If you haven’t already seen it, then I urge you to do so. Especially if your surname happens to be Hickson or Beton. You will not be disappointed!!

On our penultimate night at Sayang Sayang, a man named Segu arrived at around 1AM, wanting to buy a Tiger Beer. This guy was employed in the construction industry, and had a video on his mobile phone of him walking down a metal beam, which was reminiscent of those iconic photos   you see of men eating their lunch whilst constructing New York, miles and miles above the ground!!

I can't begin to tell you how scary this video was, if he put it on You tube it would go viral....great guy!

I can’t begin to tell you how scary this video was, if he put it on You tube it would go viral….great guy!

Segu boasted a mean massage, and enquired whether it was acceptable to me for him to offer Emma one, so as to assist her with her dodgy shoulder? Emma was keen, so I said yes. Emma was very impressed with his handy work! (Although I did point out to Segu, he did not need to ask Trent for his permission, just mine…always the Feminist…Emma)

We checked out the art gallery, took a final stroll down the river, packed our bags, and prepared to depart for Indonesia. We were both a bit glum at the prospect of having to leave, and mentioned that to Joti, but as he pointed out, if you don’t keep moving, you’re not travelling, and that’s what it’s all about…

This image was from a collection reflecting on the Tsunami

This image was from a collection reflecting on the Tsunami

This image depicted the child casualties of war.

This image depicted the child casualties of war.

image image

Our next destination was Jakarta, & nothing could have prepared us for what awaited us there…

Trent*\X

3 thoughts on “Escape Sham! Farewell Melaka! :(

  1. strummerman

    I thank you for your rapid correction – my status as Punk Snob first class is now fully restored!
    Gabba Gabba hey!
    Ok Question – Do you know what connects Guy Fawkes to Colonel Kurtz in Apocalypse Now?

    Reply
    1. trentbirkso Post author

      I think you should answer this question for our blog followers yourself Nigel, as I am not sure I could summarise what you text Emma as clarification, to do your insight sufficient justice! Trent*

      Reply
  2. Charles

    I agree Lloyd’s recommendation of ‘Gravity’. And its worth watching in 3-D, as one of the few contemporary movies to present the 3-D correctly.

    Reply

Leave a comment