Queens of the Swingers – Our Orangutan Encounter

Howdy one and all

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Borneo is Orangutans.  I have met people who had been to see them there, and it always sounded truly amazing. It has been on my lifetime ‘bucket list’ of things I wanted to do before I die.  Well, I can now say that that box is now well and truly ticked!!

We had seen there were tours to the local Semenggoh Wildlife Centre, where they run a very successful Orangutan Rehabilitation programme.  However we later found out that you could get there by local bus – yet again another cash saving!

Some of the many Orangutans at the park

Some of the many Orangutans at the park

The park wardens put out food everyday at 9am and 3pm, so we hopped on the 1pm bus to the park, paid the 4 pounds to get in, and began the 1 km walk to the feeding areas.  We realised you pay the extra for the tour to be driven up there, but it was a lovely day, and it was a nice walk!

When we arrived, we were given the ground rules, as the Orangutans are semi-wild at best, and there was no guarantee they will turn up at all, but just in case:

Don’t get too close to the Orangutans, as they have a nasty bite (we were given graphic pictures of victims to illustrate.)

Listen to the wardens instructions, if they ask you to move out of the way, you should!

If an Orangutan starts to run after you, the only hope you have is to out run it.  Do not run into a building, as they will just rip the place apart to get to you!

Keep babies and children as quiet as possible, and if they start to cry, take them away as this can upset the females.

Do not take in a tripod or walking stick, as the Orangutans will believe this to be a blow pipe or a rifle.

Quite a list, but I was unperturbed, because when the warden was halfway through his warnings, a mother and her baby Orangutan came swinging into view. I was so excited!

image image image image image

After many photos were taken, these two had to be coaxed away, as they were blocking our path to the main feeding area!

image

This was when both Orangutans came out of the trees, and walked just 1 metre in front of us – I was speechless!

We proceeded to the feeding area, and there was another mother and baby.  I’ll let the photos tell the story, but needless to say I shed a few tears of joy!

image image image

Action shot; this was just before she jumped to another tree

Action shot; this was just before she jumped to another tree

image image image

It was the best experience yet, for me! Feel free to click on the links below to watch a couple of videos! I have to say I now have a great deal of respect for wildlife film makers!:-

Emma xx

image

Leave a comment